The University of Arizona logo

Holidays Policy

Policy Information

PDF version
Effective Date: 
August 25, 2022
Last Revised Date: 
August, 2022

Purpose and Summary

The purpose of this Policy is to designate recognized University holidays. The University is limited to 10 holidays per year according to ABOR policy.

The President instituted Juneteenth as a new holiday beginning in 2023. In order to accommodate the new Juneteenth holiday, the day after Thanksgiving will be removed from the list of holidays and will be designated as a closure day in the University Closure Compensation policy.

Proposed Policy Revision

* Please note that sections titled Frequently Asked Questions, Sources, Related Information, and Revision History are provided solely for the convenience of users and are not part of the official University policy.